Mercy Me Concert

Six years ago I was driving my dad’s mustang down the back road to my house.  I was on my way to see my dad, who was in the hospital having cancer treatments.  As I drove past my kids school, this song came on the radio that just completely moved me.

“I Can Only Imagine”

I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By Your side
I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When Your face
Is before me
I can only imagine

[Chorus]:
Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for You Jesus or in awe of You be still
Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When that day comes
And I find myself
Standing in the Son
I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

These words brought tears to my eyes as  I faced the possibility that my dad could die or was dying.  All I wanted was my dad to get better and have no more cancer.  We were very close…I was daddy’s girl.  The thought of losing him made me so anxious and sick.

.  The words to this song made me picture my dad, standing in the presence of God… a great comfort to me. Soon after, though I had no idea who sung it, the song became a family favorite, bringing comfort to us in a very heartbreaking time.

So tonight, for the first time, I will get to hear my favorite band play my favorite song  live and I will be remembering my dad who passed away six years ago on April 26…just thinking about it brings tears to my eyes but I am excited too.


3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Mercy Me Concert

  1. flyingfingers51

    You have fun at that concert tonight. And now you can imagine your dad dancing around up there.
    I love you and miss him too. Uncle Ron gave me a video not to long after your dad passed away and I am thinking about putting it up on FB to remember him on that day.

  2. Enjoy the concert. one never gets over losing a dad ~ I still miss mine and think about him often. It’s good to remember though ~ I wouldn’t have it any other way, even though it’s painful.

    ((((((hugs)))))))

  3. anthonyquinata

    I love this song! I love the words. I love the sentiment. I love what you wrote.

Leave a Reply

