Cleaning House…

Mom is cleaning house.  She called me the night before last and asked me to come pick up some stuff that she and a friend had packed up.  My dad’s Chevron car collection that I helped him get started a long time ago.  All or most of my grandmother’s photo albums which I asked her to let me keep…so if anyone wants to come look at grandma’s photo albums they’re at my house.  I’m still trying to clear out a place to put them. Mom also gave me all of her wrapping paper, which may not be that big of a deal to any of you but it replenished my supply of wrapping paper which I use for my Iris folding cards.

She, mom, called me last night to tell me that she had more boxes of stuff for me to bring home including her blue delft.  I am not sure if it’s all of it or just some, she has a lot.

My brother, Kevin, came for a short visit last night and told me he that all of this packing up felt weird to him also…at the same time he, like me, is very excited for my mom.   I am glad I’m not the only one that feels this way.  My heart seems to be on my sleeve lately, it doesn’t take much to upset me but I am trying to keep it all positive.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cleaning House…

  1. Change of any sort can be very emotional ~ especially when it involves packing up and moving. In a way you are letting go of the past, and it isn’t easy. Even though it is your mom moving on, it is still bound to effect you.

    (((((((hugs)))))))

    Jan xx

    PS: I got the e-mail and will write back soon (after the scans next week).

  2. Whenever I have to pack things up, I will look at the items to consider them, asking myself whether they are worth saving or passing on. The items may evoke a lot of sentiments and memories but again, they are only things and your memories are forever. It’s hard when you wear your heart on your sleeve but remember to enjoy all the little things in life because joy does one thing very well – it grows and can be extremely contagious. Hugs to you!

  3. flyingfingers51

    I know it has to be hard on all of you. Melanie, Karl, & kevin. But your mom deserves to be happy and she is now moving on with her life. Which in a long run is good for her. She will always be your mom, even though she will have a new husband. And you will have a step dad as well.

    I will be praying for you and your family while all of you will be adjusting to a big change in your life.
    God Bless and I love all of you too.

Leave a Reply

