The Wedding cake

This is the wedding cake   Sharon and I made for mom’s wedding.  The bottom layer of the cake didn’t bake evenly.  When we put the wooden rods in it for support one of the rods stuck out of the cake and the plate we used to support the rest of the cake wouldn’t set right on the cake.  So when we set the cake up last Saturday morning at the church, the bottom plate started sliding off the cake.  It knocked all the fancy frosting work I put on the cake.  We eventually had to take the cake apart for fear it would fall on the floor.

The night before the wedding, after the cake was all made, mom told me since I was so creative, I could make the decorations for the cake.  I love doing this kind of stuff, but not at the last minute and not under pressure.  So I went home and tried to put something together with the flowers she gave me and it just wasn’t going together the way I wanted it to.  So at  11pm, the night before the wedding, I went to Wal-mart and got a couple of half  Styrofoam balls and took them home to work on.  I was up until 1:30 working on the floral arrangements for the cake…which my mom loved.

The bottom cake

The top and middle cakes (you can tell it setting crooked)

The original plan was to put the arrangement on top of the cake on the center cake, but it was too small.  Instead, I stuck the flowers I brought for the top cake in the center of the middle one.   It turned out very nice…but I’m not sure I’ll ever make another wedding cake again…and I totally understand why they are so expensive!

By the way, the cake was French Vanilla and it had cinnamon apple filling, it was really good.  We got a lot of compliments on the cake too!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Wedding cake

  1. flyingfingers51

    I know wedding cakes are challenging . But this was the first one for you. You did a great job . And also next wedding your mom can help you with the wedding cake. She can make the cake and you can decorate it. You both could work as a team. Just a suggestion.

    All in all you did a great job on it.

    Thank you Aunt TJ….the next wedding cake will be Karl’s and I might help with it. All this cake baking had gotten me interested in making Karalyn and David’s birthday cakes this year. I am going to make them both from scratch, including the icing…hopefully they will be good.

  2. Wow! It’s absolutely beautiful! I’m floored by your talent!

  3. This is lovely and ESPECIALLY for a first time wedding cake. Wonderful job and I know she really appreciated it. I think maybe you found another creative area to excel in! 🙂 I didn’t get my piece mailed to me by the way. The filling sounds delicious. 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Pumpkin's Patch

Leave a Reply

