Mom’s Birthday Party…

We had a small birthday party for mom yesterday… her birthday was Tuesday, but she and George made plans to go out for dinner with friends on her birthday so we had her party on Saturday.  Karl had to work and Kevin was sick so it was just my family, my new sister in law Crystal, a couple of friends and mom and George.  We had a good time.

I made her birthday cake.  I had a little problem with it when I started making it, I found  weevils in the flour….YUCK! So I had to stop making the cake and go buy flour.  So the cake was baked one hour before the party.  When I took it out of the pan it stuck and  when I frosted it  I was able to make it look normal so no one knew it fell apart, the icing melted when I frosted it…..but when we ate the cake it was still warm and tasted sooooooo good!   My kids for some reason didn’t know that you put real carrots in carrot cake, funny kids!

I gave mom a stack of my hand made cards, which she has come to expect every year now for her birthday…and a framed piece of my artwork,  which she said would go perfect in a room that George has with a patchwork quilt with Sun Bonnet Sues on it.

It may have been a small party, but we had a good time!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Mom’s Birthday Party…

  1. flyingfingers51

    I think it’s funny that your kids didn’t realize that carrots go in carrot cake. I made a carrot cake for our anniversary too. I used a regular cake mix. I am not sure which cake company it was, but it had carrots and rasins in it. And it tasted really good.

    Your mom looks like she is very happy. I don’t know if it is me, but I could say she is glowing. And when I saw the one picture of her putting the candles on the cake I thought maybe she might reverse the numbers from 63 to 36 lol.

    And you are such a wonderful and talented daughter for making that nice picture for her and throwing a party too. Keep up the good work.

    And lastly I do enjoy reading your blogs. I try and look to see what you have written. keep up the good work. I know the other ones have been quite busy these days with work and kids in other activities, so don’t have much time to blog anymore. I still do once in a while so come on over and read my blogs.

    love you kiddo.

    • Hi Aunt TJ…mom does have a glow about her. She is very happy. I don’t plan to stop blogging anytime soon. I enjoy it. I made the carrot cake from scratch and added pineapple to it, it was so good…I think I’ll make it more often.
      Love you too!

  2. flyingfingers51

    I just always enjoy hearing about what is going on in your family. I would blog about stuff going on in our family but it is to personal right now. But I will blog about things that are not personal. I will tell you about it in a fb message.

  3. It’s late ~ but happy birthday to your mom anyway!

Leave a Reply

