A Happy Thanksgiving afterall…

written on November 24, 2010

I have to admit, I have not been looking forward to the holidays this year. It has been a year full of changes and adjustments for me. It seems that though our family has grown bigger we’ve also grown apart and I hate the idea of us growing apart. There’s not much I can do about it other than voice my opinion that I don’t like celebrating these holidays without my family, but that is about all I can do about it. Life…is constantly changing. Life goes on.

Tonight as I made a pumpkin pie cake with Matthew, he told me that when he grew up he was going to take my recipes and make them every year for the holidays. I realized that I may miss the old traditions, but I can make new ones that my kids will hopefully remember when they are older…and continue.

I was going through my cabinets tonight looking for some candle holders for the table. I found the dishes my mom gave me when my Grandma Harris passed away. I am using them tomorrow. I also found my Grandma’s Silverware, the good stuff, the stuff she would count before she put away and would even go through the trash if there was one piece missing. That’s going on the table too. Finding these things made me happy and look forward to tomorrow’s Thanksgiving dinner. I also found a beautiful bowl that I think belonged to my grandma or mom, not sure. It has fall colored leaves on it. I decided to use it to hold the homemade rolls I’ll be making in the morning.

So….even though we can’t be together on this special day, and I will miss my family very much, I am going to make the best of the holiday and make new traditions with my own kids and some friends too!

I’ll post pictures later….love to all and wishes for a very Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

1 Comment

Filed under family, Thanksgiving

One response to “A Happy Thanksgiving afterall…

  1. I know that bittersweet feeling of the family growing up and apart, but it sounds like you have the right attitude. 🙂 Things are always changing but it doesn’t have to be for the worst. It’s all how we deal with it. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

