He knows…

Last weekend we had a birthday party for Karalyn and David.  Our house was a disaster area and took me a few days to get it the way I wanted it, because it was a mess, but also because I couldn’t get anyone to help me.

I cannot get down on my hands and knees to do things anymore…well I can, but I won’t get back up easily.  I asked, I told, I begged my kids to help me but they wouldn’t do whatever I wanted them to do.   Matthew even told me “No”, to cleaning up the kitchen.  David was working out in the yard and no help either.

After much asking, I went to David.  He went to Andrew.  Andrew was in bed and four in the afternoon…he had promised he would help get the house cleaned up if we let him go to  to stay the night.  So, when we asked him for help he told us he was tired.  David responded with “Fine, no more girlfriend…”  and Andrew went off the wall.  He just went nuts and Andrew and David got into a big fight.  I won’t go into details, but it was a nasty fight…I have bruises on my arms from it because I stepped in the middle  and got hit by a fan that Andrew knocked across the room.

I was really angry with both.   I told Andrew he needs to do what he is told to do when he is told to do it and I told David that he needs to just walk away when he gets angry…he tried to tell me that he isn’t responsible for what happens when he gets angry, I corrected him with “YES, You are responsible.”    I had my mom and brothers step in to talk to David and Andrew.     All is well now.

So…I had this urge to go to church this week, Someone kept telling me we needed to go.  We haven’t gone in a long time.  We all got up this morning and went.

The sermon was titled “Family Foundations” based on Ephesians 6:1-4:

 

1. Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. 2. Honor your father and mother (which is the first commandment with a promise), 3. that it may be well with you, and that you may live long on the earth. 4. And, fathers, do not provoke your children to anger; but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

 

 

 

The entire time the pastor was talking,  David and I and Andrew were all looking at each other and smiling.  The pastor talked about honoring your parents, listening to your kids, praising them for doing good things and not telling your kids your too busy for them.  He talked about disciplining children and not spoiling them.  He talked about knowing your kids friends…and being a nosy mom…which I am.

It is amazing how God works…how he sends those messages directly to the people who really need to hear it.

Next week we will be going back and afterwards we are going on a church picnic to celebrate our Freedom.  We are all looking forward to it.


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “He knows…

  1. I am so happy to read this. I have been praying that you find a good church home.

  2. sernarsl1974

    Rom 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. It is awsome how God brings us back to where we need(& He wants us) to be to get what He knows we need. 😎

Leave a Reply

