Pumpkins…

My dad was the coolest!  I loved doing things with him.  Going to car shows, the State Fair, and the Balloon Fiesta.   We were always very close…we shared a love for gardening.  I remember when I was 8 years old, I had a package of pumpkin seeds I was just dying to plant.  We had a big back yard and I chose a spot under the big Elm tree by our back fence for my pumpkins to grow.  It was out of the way of my two younger brothers and our dogs Eclipse and Puppy.  My dad saw me digging around in my specially picked spot and came to see what I was doing.  He got out a few garden tools and helped me plant my little pumpkin patch.  I took care of it daily and watered it faithfully.  I think I may have gotten 1 pumpkin out of that little patch.

I don’t know when he started calling me his pumpkin, but the name stuck with me…and so did my love for pumpkins.  I used to think that orange was THE ugliest color around, but somehow the color kinda grew on me like my pumpkins did.   I loved growing my pumpkins!  One year, when I was 14, I grew 27 pumpkins in m y pumpkin patch.  I gave most of them to friends and family and my brothers and I carved the rest of them and put them in the front yard for Halloween.  We had one parent tell us that her kids thought our house looked scarey with all the pumpkins out front…so scary the kids refuse to come the  door to get candy…lol! It was fun!

I like to credit my dad for my love of pumpkins and the color orange.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pumpkins…

  1. I thought this was a very cute story. I read this to Bunny. She said it was a good story. It brought back gardening memories of her and her dad, and tears to her eyes. She a big fan of her dad too. 😉 Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

