Cards and what not…

I have my cards in a store. I put it off and put it off…and then I asked myself “What the heck are you doing?” I am not sure what my reason for putting it off was for…maybe because I didn’t think I had enough to sell. Well, I had cards piled up all around me last week so I finally took a basket in to the store that has been wanting them… The store is called “The Octopus and the Fox”. It’s in downtown Albuquerque which I think is a great location. We will see what happens.
I have been working on Christmas cards on and off the past few weeks. My cousin asked me if I could send her some of my cards to sell at a craft sale at her job, so I am trying to get a variety of Christmas cards made. I made some at the beginning of the year to get a head start, but most of them are Christmas trees and round ornaments. The last few weeks I’ve made snowflakes, round ornaments, stockings, and a vintage ornament. I have also been testing out more patterns Sarah Edwards at Craftsuprint.com, Here are a couple of her Christmas patterns that I made….

Here are some other cards I have been working on.

I will post pictures of the other ones I am making soon.  I just got a new pattern for a reindeer, can’t wait to try that one out.

Having a teenager in the house has been a bit of an emotional roller coaster…girlfriends, friends,   and teenage attitudes.  He thinks he knows EVERYTHING and that his parents don’t know anything… He thought he wouldn’t get caught making out with his girlfriend in our garage…he thought he could bully his little sister into keeping quiet about what he saw going on between him and his girlfriend…Well, Karalyn was out there for a reason and now Andrew and Girlfriend are no longer allowed in the garage.  There are so many good  things I want him to experience and there are many things that I flat out don’t want him to experience (Yet, and not at all)  but he has anyway.  I can control what he comes in contact with in my home, but the world outside my house is another story.  So what do I do? Keep him locked up inside my house…well,  I could do that, but he  still has to go to school.   David and I are doing our best to teach him and the other two kids right from wrong and sometimes I wonder if he is listening at all or if he’s just nodding his big head to satisfy me and put a stop to my talking.  My brothers and mom do help when we need it but…sometimes I just feel really helpless.  We are going to church and we are getting involved in activities…Honestly I don’t know how to react to a lot of what he is doing because I never experienced what Andrew is experiencing now…peer pressure is a big part of it I am sure.  Anyway, please keep us in your prayers that we can get Andrew on the right track and stay there.

So this week was our clumsy week…Matthew twisted his ankle playing football on Wednesday at school.  On Thursday, I am not sure how I did it, but I put my collar bone out of place.  Friday, Andrew sprained his ankle playing football at a friends house and Karalyn just came in and said she dropped something on her foot.  Friday, I was walking around the store and every time I took in a deep breathe my chest/shoulder  hurt.   David has put my collar bone back in at least four times since Friday and It goes out every time I pick something up.  So I think I may have to put my arm in a sling for a bit so I will remember not to use it to lift heavy things…so far it hasn’t bothered my card making 🙂 !!!

Hope everyone is having a good day!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Cards and what not…

  1. Well dear cousin, first of all I want to tell you that all your cards are gorgeous, but I am seriously digging the newer cards a lot. I can’t wait to bring them to my work!

    Second of all, regarding your son, I did experience a lot of what he is challenging you with, and I can tell you first hand that he is a kid who will not learn any more right and wrong from you, but rather from his own experiences. At this point in life the best you can do is give him your advise and thoughts about the matter… Talk to him like an adult, be his mentor. Tell him why you think “A” is bad and “B” is better and then ask for his opinion. Talk things through with him before he finds himself in these situations. Hopefully he will remember your advise when he finds himself in those situations, but he will still choose what he thinks is best and most logical. If you demand it, it will be something for him to rebel against instead. I am sorry your going through this. Love you!

  2. Thank you, Glad you like the newer cards…I’m getting better with time…and have had lots of practice.
    Thanks Tina, for the good advice. I don’t want to tell him you can’t do this and you can’t see so and so…my mom did that to me and (still does it too)…well, you know. I don’t want to be that way with my kids.

  3. Anthony Quinata

    You did it, you rock star, you! Congratulations! I couldn’t be prouder of you.

Leave a Reply

