Thanksgiving…

First of all have have to rant, so bear  with me as I go a little Grizzly~

I am disappointed in Walmart…my husband works for them and this year for Thanksgiving he had to be to work at 5pm for their big sale that started at 10pm on Thanksgiving.  So all he had time to do on Thanksgiving was sleep,  Honestly, I don’t understand what the big deal is in waiting a few hours to make a buck.  Why is it so important to this large company to take their employees precious time that could be spent with family and friends.  Not only that but what happened to real meaning of  Christmas ??   It  has gotten to be a  very commercial thing…and that’s where I am going to end that rant because my blood pressure is sure to rise if I go on anymore.

Despite not being able to celebrate Thanksgiving with my husband we made the best of it and made plans to spend Thanksgiving day with friends.  We had a very nice meal and enjoyed the day.  After our meal we went to see my step-dad, George, who has been recovering from back surgery for about six weeks in a hospital.  He said Karalyn’s smile made his day.  We had a quick visit and had to rush home so David could go  to work.

Saturday  we  spent the day getting our house cleaned and in order.  I had Karalyn and Matthew helping me in the kitchen…I have never seen two kids have  more fun peeling potatoes!  They also enjoyed tasting the filling that I made for the celery…It was honey, walnuts, and cream cheese and was so good!   The dinner was supposed to start at 4pm, but the potatoes didn’t want to cook and my homemade rolls were still baking…my mom stole a roll from the first batch fresh out of the oven and ate it even though it was steaming hot and hadn’t been buttered yet. She love those fresh rolls!   So we finally had dinner at 5. Boy did that food go fast! …but that’s a good thing!  At the end of the day, I was exhausted, but very content that everything pulled together and my family was able to gather and have a good time.

So this year I am thankful for family, friends, and health…and many other blessings God has given us…which are too many to count.

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thanksgiving…

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you about all the big box stores opening so early this year. Made me angry and I boycotted the whole thing (don’t tell them I was sick)….

    Hugs!

  2. Marcella

    Hi Melanie I am also NOT a fan of Black Friday, Cyber Monday or whatever else….I went to Walmart once on Black Friday and almost got trampled, you could NOT move in there. NOT my idea of Fun……I will continue to shop and find sales, deals without risking my life….It’s all about money isn’t it, it is a VERY commercializd world and I do NOT like it…..Glad you guys got your Thanksgiving done and the food and company were great…So George is stil in the hospital? Was wondering how he was doing….Let me know from time to time…Take Care

Leave a Reply

