Yarndango

When I was little, I remember my dad singing “It was a one eyed one horned flying purple people eater, one eyed one horned flying purple people eater…” and so on.  He always had some fun little ditty to sing ( that may be why I am always singing to my cats…and kids)  to me for just about every occasion…this one was Halloween.  So this project is dedicated to the memory of my dad, who’s birthday is today!  He would have been 65!

I was at Barnes and Noble a few weeks ago and my friend pulled out a wad of purple yarn that I had given her.  She asked me what we could do with it.  I told her it reminded me of the “One eyed one horned flying purple people eater”  and we laughed and didn’t think anymore of it.  So on Tuesday last week she handed me the wad of yarn and asked if I was going to make the purple people eater.  So I started working on it, not really sure exactly how I was going to make it, but I started it.  I had a picture in my head of what I wanted, but wasn’t sure it would turn out that way.  It turned out exactly as I saw it!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Yarndango

  1. He is just so fantastic! I want to squeeze him! That song still makes me smile to this day. Somehow, even though he was a people-eater, I was never afraid of him in my mind. I guess it was just such an upbeat song and such a catchy tune! Anyway, I think you captured him perfectly! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Yarndango Finished Project X – Amigurumi Skull | madcrochetlab.com

  3. Kim

    My year 6 class had to sing The Purple People Eater, while doing actions, in assembly one time and despite that childhood trauma it’s remained a favourite (I still do the actions when I sing it) 🙂 Your Purple People Eater is brilliant! What a lovely tribute to your dad.

  4. Hah, I’ve never heard of that song, but it sounds great! And your monster looks just so squishable and huggable 🙂

  5. This is my favourite thing I’ve seen on your blog ever.

Leave a Reply

